Skip to content
August 6, 2010 / alausted

How To: Some of the properties associated with the solution could not be read.

Each time I open our Visual Studio Solution file it gives me the message:

“The following Web projects must be converted to the new Web site format. The conversion process will remove all source control bindings and the project will be under source control after migration.”

7-22-2010 8-20-59 AM

Following this dialog box I received another:

“Some of the properties associated with the solution could not be read.”

7-22-2010 8-21-21 AM

I found a few items after googling/binging and through trial and error came up with a resolution.  It’s important to remember that before making any changes to your solution that it is backed up.

Step 1

How many projects exist in your solution?  Write it down or remember. 

Step 2

Find the following items in your solution file (.sln).

GlobalSection(TeamFoundationVersionControl) = preSolution
SccNumberOfProjects = <number of projects in your solution>

Step 3

Remove each GlobalSection(TeamFoundationVersionControl) = preSolution section except for the correct number of projects.  In my case, I had 14 projects so I deleted each GlobalSection that didn’t contain SccNumberOfProjects =14.

Even after I deleted them all I had some duplicates so I just removed them all except the very first GlobalSection in my solution file.

Step 4

Remove the lines that contain SccProjectEnlistmentChoiceX where X is a number.

Step 5

Edit the vspscc project files.  It will look something like projectname.csproj.vspscc. 

Change the ENLISTMENT_CHOICE from COMPULSORY to NEVER.

Remove the value from inside of the ORIGINAL_PROJECT_FILE_PATH.

Conclusion

That should do it.  It may be much simpler to just create a new solution, add your projects, overwrite the existing solution file and check back in to TFS.  

This was a bit of trial and error for me so it may not be 100% accurate and work exactly the same for you.  I am not an expert and was learning as I went but hopefully this can help point you in the right direction.  I invite any comments, background or further guidance.

– Andy

Sources

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Peter Samuel / Jul 8 2011 6:33 am

    Worked like a charm. I just removed a duplicate section though. Thanks.

  2. dadsfa / Jan 31 2013 8:20 pm

    thanks man.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

